04 May, 2023 5:59 PM

Health & Safety Activist Awards 2023 Recap

At the Health & Safety Activist Awards held on April 28, the Labour Council alongside the Workers Health & Safety Centre, Central Ontario Building Trades Council, and Injured Workers Consultants held a special evening to recognize the efforts of activists who have made a difference in the prevention of work-related injury and disease, and the work of those who have led the struggle for justice and fair compensation for injured workers.

The evening featured remarks from a number of speakers, including Labour Council President Andria Babbington, Andrew Mudge, Executive Director of the Workers Health & Safety Centre, and a performance by the Justice Singers along with much more. 

Congratulations to all of the winners:

Joint Labour Council/Building Trades Council Activist Awards

  • Tim Haley, Instructor with United Association Local 46
  • Tony McDonald, IBEW Local 353 Member

Injured Worker Activist Award

  • Wayne Harris

Community Activism Award

  • Gig Workers United - CUPW STTP

Joint Workers Health and Safety Centre/Labour Council Activist Awards

  • Andrew Falotico - ATU Local 113
  • Yu Shao - UNITE HERE Local 75
We want to thank every who attended as well as those who followed along during the evening's festivities. You can see more photos from the event on our Facebook page below.

Showing 1 reaction

Subscribe to the updates from the Toronto & York Region Labour Council